برچسب: draw

  • magic the gathering – Zimone, All-Questioning and Primo’s interactions with cards that let you draw cards based on the amount of power your creature has

    magic the gathering – Zimone, All-Questioning and Primo’s interactions with cards that let you draw cards based on the amount of power your creature has


    So before we get to the “actual” question let me just make sure everyone is on the same page with the cards in question

    Zimone, All Questioning has an effect that says

    “At the beginning of your end step, if a land entered the battlefield under your control
    this turn and you control a prime number of lands, create Primo, the
    Indivisible, a legendary 0/0 green and blue Fractal creature token,
    then put that many +1/+1 counters on it. (2, 3, 5, 7, 11, 13, 17, 19,
    23, 29, and 31 are prime numbers.)”

    Cards like Garruk’s Uprising have an effect that says

    Whenever a creature you control with power 4 or greater enters, draw a card.

    Does Garruk’s Uprising (and other cards like it) see Primo when it is first created as a 0/0 or do they only see it after the +1/+1 counters are added to it?



    Source link

  • Is there a penalty for forgetting to draw?


    In a 2 player game, if a player forgets to draw from the stock and tables their first meld (without needing to draw the top discard), would there be a penalty? Or, once noticed could they then draw from the stock?



    Source link

  • magic the gathering – Can a player force a game of MTG to end in a draw with an infinite amalia/indestructable wildgrowth walker loop?

    magic the gathering – Can a player force a game of MTG to end in a draw with an infinite amalia/indestructable wildgrowth walker loop?


    The combination of Amalia and an indestructible Wildgrowth Walker always draws the game with an infinite loop once a creature explores, no matter what card is on top of the library.

    For reference, Amalia has the text

    Whenever you gain life, Amalia Benavides Aguirre explores. Then destroy all other creatures if its power is exactly 20.

    and Wildgrowth Walker has the text

    Whenever a creature you control explores, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature and you gain 3 life.

    The keyword action “explore” and the event “explores” are defined in rules 701.40a-b:

    701.40a. Certain abilities instruct a permanent to explore. To do so, that permanent’s controller reveals the top card of their library. If a land card is revealed this way, that player puts that card into their hand. Otherwise, that player puts a +1/+1 counter on the exploring permanent and may put the revealed card into their graveyard.

    701.40b. A permanent “explores” after the process described in rule 701.40a is complete, even if some or all of those actions were impossible.

    So, if a player controls Amalia and a Wildgrowth Walker, and a creature explores, then Wildgrowth Walker’s ability triggers, which causes the player to gain life, so Amalia’s ability triggers, and she explores, which triggers Wildgrowth Walker’s ability again, in a loop. The only choice any player makes during that process is what to do with the card on top of the library, if it is not a land.

    However, because of the last part of rule 701.40b, the exploration happens no matter what card is on top of the library, and even if there is no card on top of the library at all. This means that the loop always continues, no matter what choice the player makes while exploring. Therefore, the loop is mandatory, so the game is a draw.



    Source link