Grond, the Gatebreaker is a 5/5 artifact vehicle with the following text:
As long as it’s your turn and you control an Army, Grond is an
artifact creature.
We were faced with two different scenarios last night, both I think are related. In both scenarios I have Grond, and control a 2/2 Orc Army and no other creatures. Attackers have been declared, and Grond is attacking.
Scenario 1: Opponent destroys the Orc Army with an instant before blockers are declared. As Grond is now no longer a vehicle, is he still attacking as a 5/5? Or is he removed from combat?
Scenario 2: Opponent blocks Grond with a grizzly bears equiped with Barrow-Blade. Grond loses all abilities. Presumably, Grond is now "just" an uncrewed vehicle and is removed from combat?
My guess is both scenarios are essentially the same and Grond is removed from combat. But, wanting confirmation. No rulings on Grond around this issue.