برچسب: happens

  • If a creature planeswalker is dealt damage by a creature with infect, what happens?


    If a planeswalker than has been turned into a creature (not a planeswalker that turns itself into a creature with “prevent all damage” like Gideon) takes Infect damage, what happens?

    I know that Infect damage is applied as -1/-1 counters, and I know that the planeswalker will have both damaged marked on it, as well as have it’s loyalty reduced, but what I’m unsure of is if the -1/-1 counters further reduce the loyalty or if they only impact the power / toughness.

    As a follow-on, do the -1/-1 counters stay on the planeswalker when it is no longer a creature? And if so, could this be used to prevent a Gideon from using it’s “become a creature” ability (or at least kill it if it does)?



    Source link

  • What happens when multiple ‘conflicting’ counter-moving abilities trigger at the same time?


    The card-interaction that triggered this question was:

    1. P1 has a Sin, Unending Cataclysm on the board, and P1->P4 have a mixture of +1/+1 and other counters.

    2. P2 plays Fractured Identity, targeting P1’s Sin.

    What counters get moved where (assuming P2->P4 wants to put all counters on their Sin copy)?


    Would P2, seeing as they control the effect, be able to choose the "order" that the copies are made, and thus have their "enter the board" happen last? Or would all the ETB’s trigger at the same time and effectively split atoms, ‘copying’ the counters being moved, as they’re all moving from the same initial board-state?



    Source link

  • What happens when Grond attacks, and then loses his creature status?


    Grond, the Gatebreaker is a 5/5 artifact vehicle with the following text:

    As long as it’s your turn and you control an Army, Grond is an
    artifact creature.

    We were faced with two different scenarios last night, both I think are related. In both scenarios I have Grond, and control a 2/2 Orc Army and no other creatures. Attackers have been declared, and Grond is attacking.

    Scenario 1: Opponent destroys the Orc Army with an instant before blockers are declared. As Grond is now no longer a vehicle, is he still attacking as a 5/5? Or is he removed from combat?

    Scenario 2: Opponent blocks Grond with a grizzly bears equiped with Barrow-Blade. Grond loses all abilities. Presumably, Grond is now "just" an uncrewed vehicle and is removed from combat?

    My guess is both scenarios are essentially the same and Grond is removed from combat. But, wanting confirmation. No rulings on Grond around this issue.



    Source link

  • magic the gathering – What happens if I lose control of a creature affected by Act of Treason?

    magic the gathering – What happens if I lose control of a creature affected by Act of Treason?


    No, player C will keep controlling it.

    Both spells have continuous effects which modify the creature’s characteristics in Layer 2, and the one with the latest timestamp wins. It doesn’t matter that Act of Treason is only temporary (and one could say Donate doesn’t have a duration at all):

    611.2a A continuous effect generated by the resolution of a spell or ability lasts as long as stated by the spell or ability creating it (such as “until end of turn”). If no duration is stated, it lasts until the end of the game.

    Relevant parts of the layer system:

    613.1b Layer 2: Control-changing effects are applied.

    613.3. Within layers 2–6, apply effects from characteristic-defining abilities first (see rule 604.3), then all other effects in timestamp order (see rule 613.7). Note that dependency may alter the order in which effects are applied within a layer. (See rule 613.8.)

    The situation would have been different if Act of Treason had read something like

    Gain control of target creature. At the end of turn, return it to its owner’s control.

    because then that last part would be ‘later’ than, and overriding the effect of, your Donate.


    A related example: you cast Donate on one of your creatures and give it to Player C. Player A casts Act of Treason so it comes under Player A’s control; at the end of turn, it’s returned to Player C, not to you.



    Source link