برچسب: magic

  • magic the gathering – Can a player force a game of MTG to end in a draw with an infinite amalia/indestructable wildgrowth walker loop?

    magic the gathering – Can a player force a game of MTG to end in a draw with an infinite amalia/indestructable wildgrowth walker loop?


    The combination of Amalia and an indestructible Wildgrowth Walker always draws the game with an infinite loop once a creature explores, no matter what card is on top of the library.

    For reference, Amalia has the text

    Whenever you gain life, Amalia Benavides Aguirre explores. Then destroy all other creatures if its power is exactly 20.

    and Wildgrowth Walker has the text

    Whenever a creature you control explores, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature and you gain 3 life.

    The keyword action “explore” and the event “explores” are defined in rules 701.40a-b:

    701.40a. Certain abilities instruct a permanent to explore. To do so, that permanent’s controller reveals the top card of their library. If a land card is revealed this way, that player puts that card into their hand. Otherwise, that player puts a +1/+1 counter on the exploring permanent and may put the revealed card into their graveyard.

    701.40b. A permanent “explores” after the process described in rule 701.40a is complete, even if some or all of those actions were impossible.

    So, if a player controls Amalia and a Wildgrowth Walker, and a creature explores, then Wildgrowth Walker’s ability triggers, which causes the player to gain life, so Amalia’s ability triggers, and she explores, which triggers Wildgrowth Walker’s ability again, in a loop. The only choice any player makes during that process is what to do with the card on top of the library, if it is not a land.

    However, because of the last part of rule 701.40b, the exploration happens no matter what card is on top of the library, and even if there is no card on top of the library at all. This means that the loop always continues, no matter what choice the player makes while exploring. Therefore, the loop is mandatory, so the game is a draw.



    Source link

  • magic the gathering – Do exchanged creatures’ equipment still grant you benefits?

    magic the gathering – Do exchanged creatures’ equipment still grant you benefits?


    I’ve been thinking about building a Slicer, Hired Muscle commander deck where I load it up with equipment/auras and have it reap the “on attack/combat” benefits multiple times a turn cycle. The only problem: is this how it actually works?

    I know that if, for example, an equipment you control grants hexproof to an opponent’s creature, you still can’t target it since the creature has the keyword and you don’t control the creature (explained here). But is the general rule, therefore, that if an equipment/aura controlled by you grants a keyword or ability (i.e. “creature gains/has ‘X’”), it benefits the opponent, whereas if it doesn’t grant the keyword or ability it benefits you?

    As an example, take Diamond Pickaxe. It has:

    Equipped creature gets +1/+1 and has “Whenever this creature attacks, create a Treasure token.”

    So when an opponent attacks with my Slicer equipped with Diamond Pickaxe, who creates the treasure token? I assume the opponent, in this case, since the treasure creation is an ability given to the creature, which my opponent controls. On the other hand, I assume that if Slicer was instead equipped with a Bitterthorn, Nissa’s Animus, which says, in part:

    Whenever equipped creature attacks, you may search your library for a basic land card, put it onto the battlefield tapped, then shuffle.

    then when Slicer attacks on my opponent’s turn, it’s still me that gets to search for a land, since the ability is on the equipment, which I control. Have I got the right understanding in both cases, and in either case, where is this addressed in the rules?



    Source link

  • magic the gathering – Is it a crime if the target is no longer valid?

    magic the gathering – Is it a crime if the target is no longer valid?


    Yes

    Targets are selected when a spell or ability goes on the stack. Magda’s ability goes on the stack as soon as it’s triggered, i.e. when the target of Lightning Bolt is selected upon casting. Her ability is triggered and on the stack even before the targeted creature can become hexproof. The creature becoming hexproof will not remove Magda’s ability from the stack, nor prevent the targeting which already happened. It just turns the targeted creature into an invalid target.

    115.1. Some spells and abilities require their controller to choose one or more targets for them. The targets are object(s) and/or
    player(s) the spell or ability will affect. These targets are declared
    as part of the process of putting the spell or ability on the stack.
    The targets can’t be changed except by another spell or ability that
    explicitly says it can do so.

    The stack and resolution will look something like one of the below – things can resolve in slightly different orders, but the outcome is basically the same barring other effects:

    1. Lightning Bolt is cast and goes on the stack. Magda’s ability triggers and goes on the stack. Hexproof spell/ability is put on the stack. Hexproof resolves. Magda’s ability resolves and creates a treasure. Lightning Bolt fails to resolve with an invalid target.

    2. Lightning Bolt is cast and goes on the stack. Magda’s ability triggers and goes on the stack. Magda’s ability resolves and creates a treasure. Hexproof spell/ability is put on the stack. Hexproof resolves. Lightning Bolt fails to resolve with an invalid target.



    Source link

  • magic the gathering – Does Maddening Imp affect creatures cast after combat?

    magic the gathering – Does Maddening Imp affect creatures cast after combat?


    Maddening Imp does destroy creatures that enter after its ability has resolved.

    The main relevant rule is rule 611.2c:

    If a continuous effect generated by the resolution of a spell or ability modifies the characteristics or changes the controller of any objects, the set of objects it affects is determined when that continuous effect begins. After that point, the set won’t change. (Note that this works differently than a continuous effect from a static ability.) A continuous effect generated by the resolution of a spell or ability that doesn’t modify the characteristics or change the controller of any objects modifies the rules of the game, so it can affect objects that weren’t affected when that continuous effect began. If a single continuous effect has parts that modify the characteristics or changes the controller of any objects and other parts that don’t, the set of objects each part applies to is determined independently.

    The first part of Maddening Imp’s ability is a continuous effect that does not change any objects’ characteristics or controller, so it can affect objects that weren’t affected when the ability resolved. The delayed triggered ability is then not associated with any particular set of creatures when it is created, so it determines the set of creatures to destroy as it resolves in the end step.

    This is confirmed by the rulings in this Reddit thread.



    Source link

  • magic the gathering – Trick Bind for end game

    magic the gathering – Trick Bind for end game


    You can use Trickbind with Flubs or Song of Creation to make it very difficult for your opponent to stop you from winning with Laboratory Maniac.

    Once Laboratory Maniac resolves, any card draw instruction allows you to win the game. If you have Flubs, the Fool or Song of Creation and you cast Trickbind or another spell with Split Second, the card draw triggered ability will trigger from casting that spell, and go on top of the stack over the Trickbind. That means that it will resolve while Trickbind is still on the stack, so it will be protected from all of the types of interaction that Trickbind prevents.

    Depending on what exactly you cast the Trickbind in response to, the opponent may have the chance to cast a spell before you cast the Trickbind. But that doesn’t help your opponent, because you can just cast the Trickbind in response to their spell and win while their spell is still on the stack. If they have their own Split Second
    removal spell and a chance to cast it, you would have a problem.

    I said this makes it “difficult” for your opponent to stop you, not “impossible”, because Split Second does allow for some interaction. Split Second does not prevent players from activating mana abilities or taking special actions, and doing that can in turn trigger abilities that may be able to interfere with the combo. For example, your opponent could sacrifice Perilous Myr to activate Ashnod’s Altar‘s abiltiy, and have Perilous Myr’s triggered ability deal 2 damage to Laboratory Maniac.

    I also want to address a common misconception with using Split Second to protect combos like this: you cannot use Split Second to protect spells and abilities that are already on the stack. Spells and abilities on the stack resolve one at a time. After the top spell or ability on the stack resolves, each player has an opportunity to play spells or activate abilities before the next object on the stack resolves. This means that if you try to use Trickbind to stop an opponent from interacting with a spell or ability that would win the game that is already on the stack, the opponent can simply wait for Trickbind to resolve before using their interaction.



    Source link