برچسب: triggered

  • magic the gathering – Legolas Master Archer removed with 2nd triggered ability on stack

    magic the gathering – Legolas Master Archer removed with 2nd triggered ability on stack


    113.7a Once activated or triggered, an ability exists on the stack independently of its source. Destruction or removal of the source after that time won’t affect the ability. Note that some abilities cause a source to do something (for example, “This creature deals 1 damage to any target”) rather than the ability doing anything directly. In these cases, any activated or triggered ability that references information about the source for use while announcing an activated ability or putting a triggered ability on the stack checks that information when the ability is put onto the stack. Otherwise, it will check that information when it resolves. In both instances, if the source is no longer in the zone it’s expected to be in at that time, its last known information is used. The source can still perform the action even though it no longer exists.

    Last known information about Legolas is that it’s a 3/6 with deathtouch, so it will deal 3 damage and because of deathtouch, it’s lethal.



    Source link

  • Is always simple to understand if an ability is an activated ability rather than a triggered one?


    In the Fourth and Fifth edition printings of Verduran Enchantress, her triggered ability that allows her controller to draw a card after successfully casting an enchantment was written as an activated ability:

    {0}: Draw a card when you successfully cast an enchantment. Use this effect only once for each enchantment cast.

    While this is nearly identical in terms of game effect, the difference in something being an activated ability versus a triggered ability can matter for other cards like Strict Proctor.

    Is there an easy way to tell just from this card that the updated Oracle text has turned this into a triggered ability? If not, how do I explain it to another player, especially a beginner, who has the outdated wording of this card?



    Source link

  • magic the gathering – Does cycling a card use the stack? And what about his triggered ability?

    magic the gathering – Does cycling a card use the stack? And what about his triggered ability?


    Cycling does go on the stack.

    702.29a Cycling is an activated ability that functions only while the card with cycling is in a player’s hand. “Cycling [cost]” means “[Cost], Discard this card: Draw a card.”

    602.2. To activate an ability is to put it onto the stack and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect. Only an object’s controller (or its owner, if it doesn’t have a controller) can activate its activated ability unless the object specifically says otherwise. Activating an ability follows the steps listed below, in order. If, at any point during the activation of an ability, a player is unable to comply with any of those steps, the activation is illegal; the game returns to the moment before that ability started to be activated (see rule 730, “Handling Illegal Actions”). Announcements and payments can’t be altered after they’ve been made.

    Triggered abilities that trigger from cycling also go on the stack, on top of the cycling ability (because the process of activating cycling will have finished before the triggered ability is put on the stack).

    603.3. Once an ability has triggered, its controller puts it on the stack as an object that’s not a card the next time a player would receive priority. See rule 117, “Timing and Priority.” The ability becomes the topmost object on the stack. It has the text of the ability that created it, and no other characteristics. It remains on the stack until it’s countered, it resolves, a rule causes it to be removed from the stack, or an effect moves it elsewhere.

    117.3c If a player has priority when they cast a spell, activate an ability, or take a special action, that player receives priority afterward.



    Source link