برچسب: work

  • pokemon – How does the Veevee ‘Volve ability work?

    pokemon – How does the Veevee ‘Volve ability work?


    The Veevee ‘Volve ability says:

    This Pokémon can evolve into any Pokémon that evolves from Eevee if you play it from your hand onto this Pokémon. (This Pokémon can’t evolve during your first turn or the turn you play it.)

    This just sounds like how evolution works in the card game?

    Looking up how it works on Go Hub:

    We begin with the poster Pokémon of this set: Eevee EX. Thematically, it headlines the expansion but when it comes to battle, it is probably the weakest EX card until now. Its only flavor is its ridiculously named ability, Veevee ‘volve, by virtue of which Eevee EX can be evolved into any Eeveelution, EX card or not.

    It sounds like the card being an ex card changes how evolution works, but I tried to look into it and all I could find was this:

    A Pokemon ex card can be played in the same way as Pokemon cards. Basic Pokemon ex cards can be played right away without evolving them, while Stage 1 and Stage 2 Pokemon ex cards require sending their previous forms in the field before they can be played.

    pokecardhq

    So what is the point of that ability?



    Source link

  • magic the gathering – How does a card’s “Impending” ability work while there are still time counters on it?

    magic the gathering – How does a card’s “Impending” ability work while there are still time counters on it?


    A creature cast with the impending cost with time counters on it is just a regular enchantment permanent.

    A spell cannot be on the stack for multiple turns

    In Magic: the Gathering, each turn is divided into a sequence of steps, and each step can only end if the stack is empty. This means that any spell must leave the stack, either by resolving or by being countered, in the same step in which it is cast. So, no spell can ever be on the stack in a turn after the one in which it was cast, and you cannot ever counter a spell that was cast in a previous turn.


    “Not a creature” does not mean “not a permanent”

    The impending ability says that if you pay the impending cost, the object is “not a creature” as long as it has a time counter on it. “Creature” is just a card type, like “artifact” or “enchantment”. If an effect says that something is “not a creature”, that just means that it doesn’t have the creature type, or any associated subtypes, or power and toughness. Nothing else about it changes; if it would otherwise be a permanent, it’s still a permanent, just one that isn’t a creature.


    Impending

    The ability is defined in rule 702.126a:

    702.176a. Impending is a keyword that represents four abilities. The first and second are static abilities that function while the spell with impending is on the stack. The third is a static ability that functions on the battlefield. The fourth is a triggered ability that functions on the battlefield. “Impending N–[cost]” means “You may choose to pay [cost] rather than pay this spell’s mana cost,” “If you chose to pay this spell’s impending cost, it enters with N time counters on it,” “As long as this permanent’s impending cost was paid and it has a time counter on it, it’s not a creature,” and “At the beginning of your end step, if this permanent’s impending cost was paid and it has a time counter on it, remove a time counter from it.” Casting a spell for its impending cost follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2f-h.

    All of the existing cards with the Impending ability are Enchantment Creature cards, so if one of them is cast by paying its impending cost, it resolves just like any other permanent spell, except that as long as it has a time counter on it, it is just an Enchantment. It can be interacted with just like any other Enchantment. A counterspell targets spells on the stack, and this is a permanent on the battlefield, so they do not interact. Terror targets creatures, and this is not a creature, so they do not interact. Naturalize, for example, targets enchantments, so it could interact with one of these permanents.



    Source link

  • How do the Creature-Saga work regarding the attack phase?


    If, after the transformation of the Crystal Fragments card, the Summon: Alexander card comes into play, basically the "creature" part of this enchantment-saga-creature it will be able to attack ONLY ONCE.
    In fact:

    • the first turn in which it is in play (nm of lore counters:1)
      Alexander should be affected by summoning weakness;
    • the second turn
      (nm of lore counters: 2)
      is in fact the only one in which Alexander can actually attack;
    • the third turn, since the nm of lore counters has reached the value 3, Alexander will be sacrificed before the attack phase.

    Is the analysis just performed and related to this new card correct?
    Is there anything else to add?
    Thanks, regards.



    Source link

  • Exactly how does casting another players spells work? (Aeon’s End)


    There are a couple of ways in which Player 1 can end up with the option to cast spells prepped by Player 2.

    At the start of the game this is very simple – P1 casts a spark that P2 prepped, and deals 1 dmg. Great.

    But as the game progresses this gets more and more complex, and it doesn’t really specify exactly how this works?

    Things like:

    • Which Breach is being used? Do you get Breach 3/4 bonuses?
    • If the spell text refers to "you" then who does it refer to P1 or P2?
    • If the spell lets the player discard/destroy, then is it the owner or the active player?
    • If another spell/card cared whether "you had cast a spell" … then who cast that spell?
    • Where does the spell go after casting?



    Source link

  • How exactly does the timing of "Saga Enchantment" spells work?

    How exactly does the timing of "Saga Enchantment" spells work?


    Two rounds ago, I cast the saga The First Eruption.

    Before I draw a new card, there are two lore counters on it.
    I draw the card, and a new lore token is added, causing the third ability of the saga to trigger.
    This third triggered ability goes on the stack.
    Before the ability resolves, I cast Clockspinning, indicating that I intend to use it by removing a lore counter (the third one, obviously) from the Saga.

    The stack should therefore be formed as follows:

    • On top, Clockspinning, causing the removal of a lore counter, which resolves first;
    • Below that, the trigger of the third ability of the Saga.

    When all of this will be resolved, finally there is the check of the exact number of lore counters on The Saga.

    The Saga will not be sacrificed, because after the check the number of the lore counters is not three yet.

    This way I think I will be able to use the third ability of the Saga a second time.

    Is this a correct analysis?



    Source link