دسته: تغییرات و بهینه‌سازی‌ها

  • How does the interaction between Thalia, Heretic Cathar and Castle Embereth resolve?


    I am interested in the interaction between Thalia, Heretic Cathar which is already on the battlefield and Castle Embereth, a non-basic land that is being played by an opponent and now enters the battlefield.

    The two cards conflict with each other on what will happen. There is a ruling from 2016 which states that the effect of Thalia "wins", so that Castle Embereth enters the battlefield tapped.

    I would like to know which rules in the Comprehensive Rules explain this result. Both cards create continuous effects that are also replacement effects. If one applies rule 613.9, the timestamp criterion determines that Castle Embereth would "win", which is obviously not the case.

    Does it perhaps have something to do with the fact Castle Embereth says: "This land enters tapped unless you control a mountain." The word "unless" is perhaps less specific in its consequences then if it had said "except if" or "but not if".



    Source link

  • Can I use Brokers Hideout with a Simic Commander?


    Can I include the card Brokers Hideout in a commander deck, where the commander does not have a white color identity? For example Zimone, Mystery Unraveler

    I know that I cannot include Plains cards in the deck, but as Plains have color identity white, does that word appearing the card text prevent me from including Brokers Hideout in my deck?



    Source link

  • Is it ever possible to live within an eye?


    Suppose my opponent has a group with an eye of an arbitrarily large size. Is it ever possible to play within that eye and live? For instance, suppose a 19×19 board, with black stones occupying every corner and edge position. Can white live inside?



    Source link

  • Can Tyranno Infinity be revived with Limit Reverse during the battle phase?


    I am playing Yu-Gi-Oh! 5D’s Tag Force in PPSSPP "PSP emulator for Android".

    In this game I want to build a deck where I can special summon "Tyranno Infinity" from the graveyard during the battle phase.

    For now, I am planning to use "Call of the Haunted" for revive him during the battle phase, but, I wonder if "Limit Reverse" can be used as well – since I want to use low-ATK monsters and "Limit Reverse" is unlimited = 3 copies.

    My main question is as follows:

    • Can Tyranno Infinity be revived with Limit Reverse – during the battle phase?

    This is due to – by checking the rulings of "Limit Reverse" in the Yu-Gi-Oh! Spanish Wikia said (translated):

    You cannot select a monster with ? ATK in the Graveyard for activate "Limit Reverse".

    But, this ruling is not stated nor in the English version, ygoresources.com or any other online resource for that matter.

    I’ve even posted on ygoprodeck.com about this subject.

    In the hypothetical case where "Limit Reverse" cannot be used for special summon Tyranno Infinity from the graveyard:

    • Which other spell or trap cards can be used for special summon Tyranno Infinity during the battle phase?



    Source link

  • magic the gathering – Does cycling a card use the stack? And what about his triggered ability?

    magic the gathering – Does cycling a card use the stack? And what about his triggered ability?


    Cycling does go on the stack.

    702.29a Cycling is an activated ability that functions only while the card with cycling is in a player’s hand. “Cycling [cost]” means “[Cost], Discard this card: Draw a card.”

    602.2. To activate an ability is to put it onto the stack and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect. Only an object’s controller (or its owner, if it doesn’t have a controller) can activate its activated ability unless the object specifically says otherwise. Activating an ability follows the steps listed below, in order. If, at any point during the activation of an ability, a player is unable to comply with any of those steps, the activation is illegal; the game returns to the moment before that ability started to be activated (see rule 730, “Handling Illegal Actions”). Announcements and payments can’t be altered after they’ve been made.

    Triggered abilities that trigger from cycling also go on the stack, on top of the cycling ability (because the process of activating cycling will have finished before the triggered ability is put on the stack).

    603.3. Once an ability has triggered, its controller puts it on the stack as an object that’s not a card the next time a player would receive priority. See rule 117, “Timing and Priority.” The ability becomes the topmost object on the stack. It has the text of the ability that created it, and no other characteristics. It remains on the stack until it’s countered, it resolves, a rule causes it to be removed from the stack, or an effect moves it elsewhere.

    117.3c If a player has priority when they cast a spell, activate an ability, or take a special action, that player receives priority afterward.



    Source link

  • Playing and Analyzing Go in Leela

    Playing and Analyzing Go in Leela


    I’m trying out a few Go programs (UI+engine or combined) and have a couple of questions about Leela (v.0.11).

    In the analysis mode, some of examined moves are highlighted in color. What do reddish, bluish, yellowish tints mean? Available documentation does not give any clue.

    Leela Analysis Window

    I’d suppose that analysis is made from the point of view of Leela, and that red color is bad (a weak move), but this contradicts to the picture imho, because the red point looks favorable – at least at the current position, until the opposing player occupies it.

    BTW, I did not find a way to switch the side of analysis, that is it’s always performed for Leela, and not for the player (human) – am I correct that it’s impossible?

    Finally, the game provides 2 files – Leela0110.exe for CPU and Leela0110_OpenCL.exe for GPU. Unfortunately, no matter which one I run, the program always loads CPU 100%, not GPU (AMD). At the same time I tried out Leela Zero (with Sabaki UI) and it utilizes GPU for 100%. This shows that the device and drivers are functioning normally. Yet Leela does not use GPU for some reason and does not show any error messages or logs. What could be the problem and how to solve it?



    Source link

  • Which Solitaire is played by Celia Johnson in this picture

    Which Solitaire is played by Celia Johnson in this picture


    Saw a publicity still of Celia Johnson playing a solitaire I haven’t seen. Celia is an English actor, pictured possibly in 1951 (thanks Michael Kinyon!).

    Can anyone help identify the type of solitaire?

    photo of actor Celia Johnson playing a card game identified as Patience



    Source link

  • magic the gathering – What happens if I lose control of a creature affected by Act of Treason?

    magic the gathering – What happens if I lose control of a creature affected by Act of Treason?


    No, player C will keep controlling it.

    Both spells have continuous effects which modify the creature’s characteristics in Layer 2, and the one with the latest timestamp wins. It doesn’t matter that Act of Treason is only temporary (and one could say Donate doesn’t have a duration at all):

    611.2a A continuous effect generated by the resolution of a spell or ability lasts as long as stated by the spell or ability creating it (such as “until end of turn”). If no duration is stated, it lasts until the end of the game.

    Relevant parts of the layer system:

    613.1b Layer 2: Control-changing effects are applied.

    613.3. Within layers 2–6, apply effects from characteristic-defining abilities first (see rule 604.3), then all other effects in timestamp order (see rule 613.7). Note that dependency may alter the order in which effects are applied within a layer. (See rule 613.8.)

    The situation would have been different if Act of Treason had read something like

    Gain control of target creature. At the end of turn, return it to its owner’s control.

    because then that last part would be ‘later’ than, and overriding the effect of, your Donate.


    A related example: you cast Donate on one of your creatures and give it to Player C. Player A casts Act of Treason so it comes under Player A’s control; at the end of turn, it’s returned to Player C, not to you.



    Source link

  • Unknown version of solitaire

    Unknown version of solitaire


    photo of actor Celia Johnson playing a card game identified as Patience

    Saw a publicity still of Celia Johnson playing a solitaire I haven’t seen. She’s an English actor, pictured possibly in 1951 (thanks Michael Kinyon!). Can anyone help identify the type of solitaire?



    Source link

  • duplicate bridge – Was it wrong for me to give an “intermediate” signal in the following situation?

    duplicate bridge – Was it wrong for me to give an “intermediate” signal in the following situation?


    With no one vulnerable at match points, right hand opponent dealt and opened one heart. I passed, left hand opponent raised to two hearts. and all passed. I led ace, king and third of clubs from the following:♠J985 ♡J76 ♢Q72 ♣ AK2.

    Partner captured the third club with the queen (both opponents following to all three rounds), and led the ace of spades. At this point dummy (to my left) showed the following: ♠ Q2 ♡K93 ♢K853 ♣J.

    Right hand opponent dropped the 4 of spades, and I signalled with m 8 of spades, my second lowest. Partner led another spade, which dropped the opposing K and Q together, leaving my J high (but leaving the opponents void of spades).

    Partner complained about being misled by my signal but conceded it didn’t matter. She was out of clubs and wasn’t about to lead trump, so it was a choice between spades and diamonds. I didn’t particularly want a diamond lead with the K in dummy sitting over my Q. Of course, she could have led the ace of diamonds if she had it, but she didn’t.

    I quoted what I had been taught (by the late Dorothy Hayden Truscott). With regard to following with four of a suit:

    Follow with lowest (5) means, “You’ll get no help from me if you lead another one.”

    Second lowest (8) means, “I can accommodate another one.”

    Second highest (9) means, “Please lead another one.”

    Highest (J) means, “lead another one for crying out loud.”

    I believe that partner was “disappointed” that I didn’t have the controlling honor after I played the 8. My understanding when playing the is that it means, ” I don’t see any better lead than another spade, whether or not it wins.

    Did partner have a good reason to complain about my signal?



    Source link