برچسب: attack

  • magic the gathering – On attack trigger timing vs becoming an “attacking creature”

    magic the gathering – On attack trigger timing vs becoming an “attacking creature”


    If I attack with Jor Kadeen, can I play Embercleave for 5 (-1) before the attack trigger resolves, making them a 4/4 and drawing 1? or do I have to pay the full 6 and play it earlier?

    The attacking/blocking phase timings have changed multiple times in my play memory.. so more generally, are creatures considered attacking immediately when they are declared attackers, do their triggers need to resolve first (step change), or something else?


    Jor Kadeen, First Goldwarden has a trigger “Whenever Jor Kadeen attacks ..” and Embercleave counts attacking creatures “This spell costs {1} less to cast for each attacking creature you control.” and can be played instantly due to Flash.

    Jor Kadeen is also clear in their rulings that their desirable calculation is done once during ability resolution (hooray) “The value of X is determined only once, as the triggered ability resolves. If the number of equipped creatures you control changes after that time, it won’t change the bonus granted.”

    Jor Kadeen Embercleave



    Source link

  • How do the Creature-Saga work regarding the attack phase?


    If, after the transformation of the Crystal Fragments card, the Summon: Alexander card comes into play, basically the "creature" part of this enchantment-saga-creature it will be able to attack ONLY ONCE.
    In fact:

    • the first turn in which it is in play (nm of lore counters:1)
      Alexander should be affected by summoning weakness;
    • the second turn
      (nm of lore counters: 2)
      is in fact the only one in which Alexander can actually attack;
    • the third turn, since the nm of lore counters has reached the value 3, Alexander will be sacrificed before the attack phase.

    Is the analysis just performed and related to this new card correct?
    Is there anything else to add?
    Thanks, regards.



    Source link

  • What do raiders attack if there are multiple targets in the same category?


    The rules for activating raiders say:

    When activated, each Cylon raider carries out only one of the
    actions listed below, taking only the first action that it is able
    to perform (in numerical priority, with “Attack a Viper” taking
    the highest priority and “Attack Galactica” taking the lowest)

    1. Attack a Viper:
      area. It attacks an unmanned viper if able; otherwise it attacks a piloted viper.
    2. If there are no vipers in its area, the Destroy Civilian Ship:
      raider destroys one civilian ship in its area. The current
      player chooses a civilian ship in the area and flips it over.
      The resources listed on its face are lost, and the token is
      removed from the game.

    These rules leave ambiguous which ship is targeted within these categories. Which ship do raiders attack when there are multiple ships that can be targeted that are different? This can happen in two cases I’m aware of:

    1. There are multiple piloted vipers in the same space area (which matters for who gets sent to sickbay if there is a hit)
    2. There is an unpiloted viper and an unpiloted assault raptor in the same space area (the rules for assault raptors say they are treated as vipers, so these are both unpiloted vipers from a priority standpoint, and this matters in terms of difficulty to hit)



    Source link