برچسب: timing

  • magic the gathering – On attack trigger timing vs becoming an “attacking creature”

    magic the gathering – On attack trigger timing vs becoming an “attacking creature”


    If I attack with Jor Kadeen, can I play Embercleave for 5 (-1) before the attack trigger resolves, making them a 4/4 and drawing 1? or do I have to pay the full 6 and play it earlier?

    The attacking/blocking phase timings have changed multiple times in my play memory.. so more generally, are creatures considered attacking immediately when they are declared attackers, do their triggers need to resolve first (step change), or something else?


    Jor Kadeen, First Goldwarden has a trigger “Whenever Jor Kadeen attacks ..” and Embercleave counts attacking creatures “This spell costs {1} less to cast for each attacking creature you control.” and can be played instantly due to Flash.

    Jor Kadeen is also clear in their rulings that their desirable calculation is done once during ability resolution (hooray) “The value of X is determined only once, as the triggered ability resolves. If the number of equipped creatures you control changes after that time, it won’t change the bonus granted.”

    Jor Kadeen Embercleave



    Source link

  • How exactly does the timing of "Saga Enchantment" spells work?

    How exactly does the timing of "Saga Enchantment" spells work?


    Two rounds ago, I cast the saga The First Eruption.

    Before I draw a new card, there are two lore counters on it.
    I draw the card, and a new lore token is added, causing the third ability of the saga to trigger.
    This third triggered ability goes on the stack.
    Before the ability resolves, I cast Clockspinning, indicating that I intend to use it by removing a lore counter (the third one, obviously) from the Saga.

    The stack should therefore be formed as follows:

    • On top, Clockspinning, causing the removal of a lore counter, which resolves first;
    • Below that, the trigger of the third ability of the Saga.

    When all of this will be resolved, finally there is the check of the exact number of lore counters on The Saga.

    The Saga will not be sacrificed, because after the check the number of the lore counters is not three yet.

    This way I think I will be able to use the third ability of the Saga a second time.

    Is this a correct analysis?



    Source link