برچسب: trigger

  • magic the gathering – On attack trigger timing vs becoming an “attacking creature”

    magic the gathering – On attack trigger timing vs becoming an “attacking creature”


    If I attack with Jor Kadeen, can I play Embercleave for 5 (-1) before the attack trigger resolves, making them a 4/4 and drawing 1? or do I have to pay the full 6 and play it earlier?

    The attacking/blocking phase timings have changed multiple times in my play memory.. so more generally, are creatures considered attacking immediately when they are declared attackers, do their triggers need to resolve first (step change), or something else?


    Jor Kadeen, First Goldwarden has a trigger “Whenever Jor Kadeen attacks ..” and Embercleave counts attacking creatures “This spell costs {1} less to cast for each attacking creature you control.” and can be played instantly due to Flash.

    Jor Kadeen is also clear in their rulings that their desirable calculation is done once during ability resolution (hooray) “The value of X is determined only once, as the triggered ability resolves. If the number of equipped creatures you control changes after that time, it won’t change the bonus granted.”

    Jor Kadeen Embercleave



    Source link

  • Does "defeat" trigger before/after battle abilities?

    Does "defeat" trigger before/after battle abilities?


    Specifically in regards to Mawgarn’s Axe which allows defeating a monster when moving through a dungeon area.

    Unfortunately Defeat is not addressed within the Lexicon.

    Mawgarn's Axe - Choose a monster, for each level of the wielding hero, roll 1d6+1.  If you roll lower than the Mosnter's HP, destroy this Hero.  Otherwise, defeat it the next time this turn you move into of through its room.



    Source link

  • What happens when multiple ‘conflicting’ counter-moving abilities trigger at the same time?


    The card-interaction that triggered this question was:

    1. P1 has a Sin, Unending Cataclysm on the board, and P1->P4 have a mixture of +1/+1 and other counters.

    2. P2 plays Fractured Identity, targeting P1’s Sin.

    What counters get moved where (assuming P2->P4 wants to put all counters on their Sin copy)?


    Would P2, seeing as they control the effect, be able to choose the "order" that the copies are made, and thus have their "enter the board" happen last? Or would all the ETB’s trigger at the same time and effectively split atoms, ‘copying’ the counters being moved, as they’re all moving from the same initial board-state?



    Source link

  • Does Wounded Waters Bleeding’s Serene Waters trigger multiple times in one power for Dahan movement?

    Does Wounded Waters Bleeding’s Serene Waters trigger multiple times in one power for Dahan movement?


    I was playing Wounded Waters Bleeding for the first time yesterday, and noticed an odd wording discrepancy in the Serene Waters Healing Card (included below). I couldn’t find anything directly addressing it in the FAQ. If I push Dahan into multiple different lands with one Power (assuming they’re all my lands), do I get to downgrade multiple Invaders or just one? (The "one of your lands" phrasing in the Dahan pushing sentence that isn’t in the Invaders pushing sentence is tripping me up.)

    Specific example: assume for this example all lands have at least one of my presence. With one Power (i.e. Swirl and Spill), I push 2 Dahan and 2 Towns from one of my lands, each into different lands. Do I get:

    1. 4 downgrades (the 2 towns and 2 Invaders in the Dahans’ new lands) – pretty sure not this one
    2. 3 downgrades (1 town and 2 Invaders in the Dahans’ new lands)
    3. 2 downgrades (1 town and 1 Invader in one of the Dahans’ new lands)

    Thoughts?

    Serene Waters Healing Card



    Source link